Hamworthy Rec provisionally listed in Wessex League allocations after promotion

HAMWORTHY Rec have been allocated a spot in the Wessex League after winning the Dorset Premier last season.

The FA has announced the proposed teams for both the Wessex Premier and the Wessex Division One.

Double-winners Rec have dominated the Dorset Prem in recent seasons, winning the title three years on the trot.

Hampshire Premier League winners Colden Common did not apply for promotion, whilst runners up Denmead failed in their application. That means third-placed Fleetlands have been granted promotion.

Whilst no sides have been relegated from the Southern League, the division directly above the Wessex Prem in the pyramid, there is one further change outside of the promoted duo of Bemerton Heath Harlequins and Laverstock & Ford, who followed their champion neighbours by earning promotion via the play-offs.

Sussex-based side Pagham Town have been transferred into the division from the Southern Combination Premier League, whilst the Wessex’s northern most side, Alton Town, will now play their football in the Combined Counties Premier Division South.

Whilst Pagham boasts a Portsmouth postcode, meaning they have neighbours in the form of Fareham Town, Baffins Milton Rovers, Horndean, Moneyfields and United Services Portsmouth, fixtures between the Sussex outfit and Portland United will mean two hours of travelling, with over 100 miles separating the two sides.

In the Wessex Premier, Hythe & Dibden were saved from relegation by a reprieve, with Totton & Eling also surviving in the Wessex Division One on the same basis. Infinity FC, who pulled out of the Wessex League over ground issues, will not return.

Promoted Bashley and Hamworthy United will now ply their trade in the Southern League Division One South, cutting down the amount of sides from the local area.

Brockenhurst, Bournemouth Poppies, Christchurch, and Blackfield & Langley all remain in the Premier division, whilst Verwood, New Milton and Ringwood will compete in Division One.

In a statement reminding fans that the allocations were still subject to appeal, the FA said: “We can now confirm the National League System (NLS) club allocations for Steps 3-6, subject to FA Council ratification.

“The allocations follow the completion of the recent Inter-Step and league play-offs at Steps three to six of the NLS.

“With the season at Steps one & two yet to complete, those allocations will be confirmed in due course.

“We would like to thank all of the clubs across the National League System for their hard work during the first full season since the COVID-19 pandemic and wish everyone the best of luck for next season.”

Wessex League Premier division

  • AFC Portchester
  • AFC Stoneham
  • Alresford Town
  • Baffins Milton Rovers
  • Bemerton Heath Harlequins (Promoted from Wessex Division One)
  • Blackfield & Langley
  • Bournemouth Poppies
  • Brockenhurst
  • Christchurch
  • Cowes Sports
  • Fareham Town
  • Hamble Club
  • Horndean
  • Hythe & Dibden (Reprieved)
  • Laverstock & Ford (Promoted from Wessex Division One)
  • Moneyfields
  • Pagham (Transferred from Southern Combination Premier)
  • Portland United
  • Shaftesbury
  • United Services Portsmouth

Wessex League Division One

  • Amesbury Town (Relegated from Wessex Premier League)
  • Andover New Street
  • Andover Town
  • Ash United
  • Downton
  • East Cowes Victoria
  • Fawley
  • Fleet Spurs
  • Fleetlands (Promoted from Hampshire Premier League)
  • Folland Sports
  • Hamworthy Recreation (Promoted from Dorset Premier League)
  • Millbrook
  • New Milton Town
  • Newport (IoW)
  • Petersfield Town
  • Ringwood Town
  • Romsey Town
  • Totton & Eling (Reprieved)
  • Verwood Town
  • Whitchurch United

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.